RBGE Certificate in Practical Horticulture

Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh (RBGE) Certificate in Practical Horticulture

at Glasgow Botanic Gardens

UPDATE 7/8/22

RBGE Certificate in Practical Horticulture at Glasgow Botanic Gardens is a 10-day course that will give you the fundamental practical skills of a horticulturist.

The course is offered in partnership with the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh and is co-ordinated and delivered by Lisa Swift, Billy Kenny and the Friends of Glasgow Botanic Gardens. Tutors Billy, Lisa and other members of the Glasgow Botanic Gardens’ staff bring a wealth of horticultural knowledge and expertise to this project.

Please fill in an application form if you would like to join the course.   A few places are still available, starting 20th August 2022.

The course fees are £550.

For further enquiries about the Glasgow CPH please email: cphglasgow@gmail.com

Online Application Form

You can access module information in the handbook below.

CPH Handbook Glasgow 2022

Spring course dates 2022

 CPH01 Looking at Plants – Saturday 19th March

 CPH02 Soil Care – Saturday 26th March

 CPH03 Feeding and Watering – Saturday 2nd April

 CPH04 Seed Propagation – Saturday 9th April

 CPH05 Vegetative Propagation – Saturday 7th May

 CPH 06 Growing Media and Potting – Saturday 14th May

 CPH07 Planting – Saturday 21st May

 CPH08 Pruning and Training – Saturday 28th May

 Revision Day – Sunday 29th May

 Assessment – Saturday 11th June

Summer  2022 

 CPH01 Looking at Plants – Saturday 20th August

 CPH02 Soil Care – Saturday 27th August

 CPH03 Feeding and Watering – Saturday 3rd September

 CPH04 Seed Propagation – Saturday 10th September

 CPH05 Vegetative Propagation – Saturday 17th September

 CPH 06 Growing Media and Potting – Saturday 1st October

 CPH07 Planting – Saturday 8th October

 CPH08 Pruning and Training – Saturday 15th October

 Revision Day – Saturday 29th October

 Assessment – Saturday 5th November